Two Months with My Little

Anaís, has changed so much over the past month. She has gained a few pounds, grew a few inches and her hair is growing in nicely! But those are just a few things that have changed with my little.

During this time, our little bubs has started becoming more and more fun to play with! She has been cooing, gurgling and making all of these adorable baby sounds! Hubby and I have been having so much fun ‘talking’ to her. It’s amazing what a long conversation she can hold haha! 

She’s now able to hold her head up for longer periods of time, she rolls over without any trouble and she can kick herself forward! I’m so happy with all of the progress she’s making.

Smiling. Oh my gosh, princess gives us all the smiles! She was a smiley baby since she came out of the womb. We quickly learned it was just gas LOL. But, lately they have been voluntarily. Anaís, loves it when I play with her little toes, sing to her, give her massages, smother her with kisses and of course when I use my baby voice. It was so hard capturing her beautiful smile, but lately I’ve learned how to be a little more sneaky with my camera.

When Anaís, was a month old she hated bathtime. Maybe hate is a strong word but she definitely wasn’t a fan of it. She enjoyed being submerged in the water but hated being dressed and getting a massage. As of lately, she loves it! We bathe her in the sink. She prefers being submerged entirely and we can’t do that with a regular baby tub. Now that she’s getting bigger, we’re going to try to use her baby tub again.

As babies get older, massages become a necessity. Anaís, is lifting her head for longer periods of time, on her belly often and uses her legs more than before. She’s either kicking off of us or ‘walking’. Her muscles are definitely tired by the end of the day and so I try to give them as much love as I can. Bubs didn’t care for massages before. However, now it’s a calming mechanism. She will lay completely still and just stare at me while I massage her. I sing to her and tell her what I’m doing as I do it. She loves it! And I love the little smiles and giggles I get in return.

Bedtime can sometimes be a hassle. Anaís, bedtime routine begins at 8pm. Bath, massage, pajamas, and nursing while I sing her a lullaby. Sometimes we switch it up and dad reads a bedtime story. On ocassion, she is a little too anxious and wound up. Either hubs and I will have to walk around the apartment to calm her down. Or I’ll have to cradle her and rock her to sleep. However, she still sleeps through the night, thank gosh. But! Our little princess has already learned a few tricks. Anaís, sleeps in her bassinet. I’m sure she’s aware that she’s alone in there. After we feed her and place her in the bassinet she will sleep for a few hours. Then she begins to fuss. She will keep at it until one of picks her up. This usually happens around 1-3am. I’m almost always defeated around that time, so I give in and bring her on the bed. She nurses, then nuzzles up to me and falls asleep. I know it’s not the greatest habit but I don’t feel the slightest bit of guilt, I love the cuddles!

I can’t even begin to explain the amount of sleep I have lost. It started during pregnancy and it keeps going. Honestly, some days I don’t even know how I function. Coffee is a lifesaver. During the night, if Anaís, makes even the slightest sound, I jump up and check on her. Every cough, sneeze, sniffle and wiggle. This momma is up! That’s another reason why I don’t mind having her snuggled up to me, I know she’s safe. Also, when she is sleeping beside me, I don’t sleep soundly. I have always been a light sleeper. A door opening, hubs moving in the bed, I’m awake. Ever since we brought her home, I’ve become even more aware. Sleeping is almost nonexistent now.

I know what most of you are thinking, where is dad? Honestly, hubby works two jobs and is gone from 7-7, most days. He’s stressed out enough. I prefer tending to her during the night. Do I mind? Nope! I’m soaking up as much of this experience as I can. I enjoy every minute of taking care of Anaís, and being her mother. Not saying that hubby doesn’t. You should see how they interact with one another! It makes my heart burst! As soon as he gets home, he scoops her up and they’ll cuddle up on the couch. The conversations those two have, I can’t even LOL.

Let’s talk about her eating habits. You’re probably wondering if I’m still breastfeeding. Yes, I am. We give her formula during the day, at times. She drinks about 4-6oz of Enfamil. However, her main source of food is still my breastmilk. I’ve gotten a lot better at feeding her in public. Yay! But I’m sure the older she gets, the easier it will be. Anaís feeds more often, as she’s going through a few growth spurts. She’s been very demanding with her boob time. I have learned how to do everything with her latched on. Cooking, cleaning, eating, changing my clothes, doing my make-up, hahah! I have done it all!

Another month down. My princess has changed so much over the four weeks. I scroll through my camera roll at least a few times a day and cry. I’m trying to savor every moment of her being this tiny and snugly. But I’m enjoying all of these new milestones and I love our interactions now. It keeps getting better and better. I can’t wait to see what this next month will bring!

4 thoughts on “Two Months with My Little

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

