One Month with My Little

It’s May 17th, 2017 and bubs is officially a month old! Time is really flying by. Adjusting to our life as new parents have had it’s ups and downs but we’ve been enjoying every minute of it.

Almost every parent hubs and I came across have warned us. They warned us about three things: sleep, breastfeeding, and hell. These parents told us that sleep is long gone. The mothers kept telling me breastfeeding is not practical and isn’t worth it. Also, they all said their life has been hell since their child was born. I knew they were all wrong and so I brushed it off. Bubs is a happy baby and she’s shown us the complete opposite of everything everyone has said.

First, let’s talk about sleep. Hubs and I haven’t lost any! Yeah, Anais wakes us up a few times a night for feedings, but to be honest it’s usually the other way around. My little can seriously sleep. I have to wake her up every 3 hours so she can feed. Waking her up is the hard part. I have to take off her little hat and her socks, tickle her feet and change her diaper.

I’m not going to lie, we’ve had some challenging nights. Some nights she wants to play rather than sleep or she’s extremely fussy. However, once I pull her close and we snuggle up on our bed, she’s sound asleep. I know what some of you are thinking (mainly non-parents) how could you sleep with your baby, that’s unsafe! Honestly, it isn’t. Co-sleeping is normal and many parents do it. I’ve always been a light sleeper and having her has made me, even more, alert but I’ll talk more about that later on. I love breastfeeding my little. After I delivered her, she latched right on and fed for an hour. It’s the most amazing feeling in the world. You form this bond with your baby that I don’t even know how to describe. It has been difficult at times. Some days she feeds for hours at a time, once she latched on for four hours straight. Other days I can’t get her to stay latched on. The soreness was my biggest issue, but after the first week, my body adjusted. The benefits of breastfeeding are amazing, for the both of us. I prefer it over formula. Once in a while, we give her the bottle so she’ll have a full tummy at night (breastmilk digests faster) but I don’t rely on it. Hubs and I recently began taking her out and about. Breastfeeding in public is definitely something I need to work on.

Secondly, I love breastfeeding my little. After I delivered her, she latched right on and fed for an hour. It’s the most amazing feeling in the world. You form this bond with your baby that I don’t even know how to describe. It has been difficult at times. Some days she feeds for hours at a time, once she latched on for four hours straight. Other days I can’t get her to stay latched on. The soreness was my biggest issue, but after the first week, my body adjusted. The benefits of breastfeeding are amazing, for the both of us. I prefer it over formula. Once in a while, we give her the bottle so she’ll have a full tummy at night (breastmilk digests faster) but I don’t rely on it. Hubs and I recently began taking her out and about. Breastfeeding in public is definitely something I need to work on.

And lastly, as for this “hell”, everyone has told us about, does it exist? It could be possible these people were not ready to be parents or don’t have the patience to be one. Every child is different and I understand that, but a little patience and lots of love go a long way. We create these beautiful little humans and bring them into this strange world. They need our comfort, support, and our guidance. They have no idea what they need or what they like, it’s our job to care for them and it’s an amazing job. Hubs and I haven’t had any problems with bubs, she plays with us for a few hours, feeds and then naps. She’s so much fun to be around. I will admit though since I delivered her she hasn’t left my arms. Others have said I’m teaching her a terrible habit, but they don’t understand. They are only small for so long and I want to take advantage of every second. Also, she loves our skin to skin snuggles. I want to give her all the comfort. It’s bitten me in the ass a few times. Some nights she won’t fall asleep or stay asleep unless she’s snuggled up to me on the bed. We’ve created this routine where every morning when daddy leaves for work, she wakes up to feed. After I feed her, she stays with me on the bed and falls asleep on my chest. Don’t even get me started on the back spasms, but anything for my little to be comfortable.

Do you know what has been intense? Her poops! Hubs and I are almost always talking about her pooping patterns, the consistency, how many times she’s peed LOL. Our bubs is a pooper (she’s going to hate me when she reads this later on.) A few nights ago after we gave her a bath and got her into her jammies, little miss had such a massive poop it went all the way up her back! I had to bring her to the sink and hose her little butt off! Haha! Dad wasn’t a big fan of cleaning her after she poops because he’s afraid he won’t do a good job. Recently, he’s been killing it! She seems to enjoy when he does it too because she won’t freak out with him. Progress!

Mommy hasn’t been able to wear the prettiest clothes all the time anymore. I’ve gotten poop and spit-up all over myself. She laughs every time. Yes, this child smiles a lot. She is a character. We’re getting the hang of it though! I consider us very lucky. Bubs isn’t a fussy one and she rarely spits up (it is a mess when she does though).

It has only been a month since I brought my little into this world and she has taught us so much. Babe and I are soaking up every moment like sponges (you don’t want to see my camera roll). I can’t wait to see what else this little girl has in store for us!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

